VIEW ALL NEWS
Feb 9, 2016

MITCH ALBOM BRINGS “HOCKEY, THE MUSICAL!” TO THE CITY THEATRE MAY 19-JUNE 19

Tickets On Sale Now

(DETROIT– February 9, 2016) — Noted author and playwright Mitch Albom dives into the world of musical comedy with the irresistible new show "Hockey, The Musical!" a show Albom laughingly describes as "Spamalot - with hockey sticks." The musical makes its debut at the City Theatre Thursday, May 19 through Sunday, June 19.

The concept is sure to draw theater fans and sports fans alike: When the Lord decides the world has too many sports, He decides to wipe out one – hockey - to teach mankind a lesson. Only five mismatched fans can try and save their beloved game in this hysterical, raucous, foot-tapping musical with book, original music and lyrics by Mitch Albom.

Tickets ($39.50) are on sale now and can be purchased at OlympiaEntertainment.com, The Fox Theatre and Joe Louis Arena box offices, Hockeytown Authentics in Troy (without service charge) at all Ticketmaster locations and Ticketmaster.com. To charge tickets by phone, call (800) 745-3000. Discounts are available for groups of 8 or more by calling (313) 471-3099. For additional information, call (313) 471-6611.

"I'm really thrilled about bringing the quirky, lovable elements of hockey into a comic musical,” said Mitch Albom. “It's an underdog show for an underdog sport. The laughs and heart that the story is able to dig out, thanks to how much we all love hockey, has made for perhaps the most enjoyable creation I've ever attempted."

The musical, which takes place in a mythical hockey rink and combines original compositions with popular classics, will be directed by Peter Albom and choreographed by Gabe Nesser. Several of the original songs include "Put On Skates," "Kill Baseball," "Oh, Octopus, My Octopus," “God is a Canuck” and "When You're A Wing.” Familiar melodies will include everything from 50's and 60's rock and roll to "Toot, Toot, Tootsie Goodbye."

Performance Schedule:
Thursday, May 19                    7:30 p.m.
Friday, May 20                         8 p.m.
Saturday, May 21                    2 p.m. & 8 p.m.
Sunday, May 22                      2 p.m.
Thursday, May 26                    7:30 p.m.
Friday, May 27                         8 p.m.
Saturday, May 28                    2 p.m. & 8 p.m.
Sunday, May 29                      2 p.m. & 5:30 p.m.
Thursday, June 2                     7:30 p.m.
Friday, June 3                          8 p.m.
Saturday, June 4                     2 p.m. & 8 p.m.
Sunday, June 5                       2 p.m. & 5:30 p.m.
Thursday, June 9                     7:30 p.m.
Friday, June 10                        8 p.m.
Saturday, June 11                   2 p.m. & 8 p.m.
Sunday, June 12                     2 p.m. & 5:30 p.m.
Thursday, June 16                   7:30 p.m.
Friday, June 17                        8 p.m.
Saturday, June 18                   2 p.m. & 8 p.m.
Sunday, June 19                     2 p.m. & 5:30 p.m.

Close