Big Ten Men’s Ice Hockey Tournament

The Big Ten Men’s Ice Hockey Tournament returns to Joe Louis Arena for the second time in three years, as The Joe will once again play host to all six Big Ten teams – Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin – in a single-elimination format tournament from March 16-18.

All five games in the tournament will be covered live nationally by BTN (games at 4:30 p.m. and 8:00 p.m. on Thursday, March 16 and Friday, March 17; and the championship game at 8:00 p.m. on Saturday, March 18).

Thursday’s quarterfinals will feature the No. 3 seed facing the No. 6 seed and the No. 4 seed battling the No. 5 seed. The top two seeds will open tournament play on Friday in the semifinals, with the No. 1 seed against either the No. 4 or No. 5 seed and the No. 2 seed facing the No. 3 or No. 6 seed. The winner of Saturday’s championship game will be the conference’s automatic qualifier to the NCAA Championship.

Ticket Information

Tickets can be purchased at, the Fox Theatre and Joe Louis Arena box offices, Hockeytown Authentics in Troy (without service charge), at all Ticketmaster locations and To charge tickets by phone, call (800) 745-3000.

Purchase Tickets



Duel In The D

The most-played rivalry in the history of college hockey added another incredible chapter on Feb. 10 at Joe Louis Arena when Michigan earned a 5-4 shootout victory to capture the Iron D Trophy.

In the 313th all-time meeting between the in-state rivals, and the 56th and possibly final matchup at Joe Louis Arena, the Wolverines erased an early two-goal deficit and won the shootout in the fifth round to retake the Iron D Trophy from the Spartans, who won the unique trophy with a 3-2 overtime upset victory in its inaugural appearance.

Great Lakes Invitational

For the 14th time in tournament history, four Michigan-based schools descended upon Hockeytown last December for the 52nd Annual Great Lakes Invitational.

Special invitee Western Michigan, which joined event host Michigan Tech and tournament mainstays Michigan and Michigan State, earned the MacInnes Cup by defeating Michigan Tech, 1-0, in the championship game.

The Broncos participated in the two-day, single-elimination tournament, which has become a college hockey holiday tradition, for the fifth time overall, and the first since winning the MacInnes Cup in 2013 at Comerica Park during the Hockeytown Winter Festival.